Wednesday, April 2, 2014

Revlon New Complexion One Step Compact Make Up in 01 Ivory Beige


I'd been curious about the Revlon New Complexion One Step Compact Makeup since I saw it in some videos by Australian beauty gurus.  It seems like they get new products several months earlier than they hit the states, so I'd been on the lookout for a good month or two before I finally stumbled across it at Wal-Mart.


I've tried a few cream compact foundations in the last year, including the Cover FX and NARS, both of which were absolute disasters for me.  But hope springs eternal and a drugstore price point didn't hurt either.


As it turned out, this was the goldilocks cream compact foundation for me.  It was neither too dry and stiff (like the CoverFX), nor was it to sheer and oily (like the NARS).  It had nice pigmentation and applied well.  I tried applying it with both a brush and a sponge and both yielded good results.  It did set rather than remaining tacky (I'm looking at you again, NARS).


The only downside to this foundation for me, and you can probably tell from the swatches, is that the lightest shade, 01 Ivory Beige, is a good two shades too dark for me.  BOO HOO!  Because aside from that, it's a lovely foundation.  It wore well - most foundations do wear well on me.  It didn't separate and turn into an oily mess and it didn't break down and pool in my pores.



The shade range does seem to be pretty limited.  I think there are 6 shades total and per usual, the online swatches are absolutely useless.  Looking at them in store, I picked up what appeared to be the lightest shade and like I said, it is way, way too dark for me.  However, looking at online swatches, it looks like shade 2, Tender Peach, might actually be lighter.  I'm going to have to hunt it down because if I can find a shade match (or at least something close enough that I don't have to wear a scarf and/or turtleneck with it), I will be a very happy camper.



I haven't really noticed anybody talking about this foundation.  Has anyone tried it?  If so, I'd love to know what you thought.  The Revlon New Complexion One-Step Compact Make Up contains 9.9 grams of product and retails for $11 - $14 wherever Revlon is sold.  I picked mine up at Wal-Mart.

Overall:  6/10

Friday, March 28, 2014

Jordana 12 HR Made To Last Liquid Eyeliner pencils in Black Point and Espresso Last


So, I am a liquid liner girl to the core.  I've never been a huge fan of pencils because they always move around on me.  I know people rave about the Urban Decay 24/7 pencils, but those things go everywhere on me and I always end up looking like a raccoon  when I use them. 

Up until recently, tightlining wasn't an option for me, but I changed contact, so now that's a thing.  It's very exciting.  Truly.

Anyway, Kristin Gehm talked about how well the Jordana 12 hr pencils lasted in her waterline and I figured at this price point, I would give them a try.

I picked up Black Point and Espresso Last


Both pencils are incredibly creamy, yet they set quickly and those suckers last really well.  Also, I don't have a problem with them transferring on me - I usually only line my upper waterline.



The Jordana 12 HR Made To Last pencils contain 1.2 grams of product and they retail for a phenomenal $2 - $4 wherever Jordana is sold.  I get mine at Walgreens for $3.49.

Overall:  10/10

Thursday, March 27, 2014

Jane shimmer eyeshadow in River Rock


I picked up this shadow a month or so ago at Ulta.  I have a few very old Jane shadows, which were quite forgettable, but I was curious about the brand since it re-launched.  I decided to pick up the Jane shimmer eyeshadow in River Rock.



I have a couple of the Jane shadows and they're all the shimmer shadows.  Since it's a drugstore brand, there aren't testers, at least not at my Ulta.  From YouTube reviews, it seemed like the shimmer shadows are good, but the other finishes are hit and miss.  I have to say I am very happy with the shimmer shadows.


River Rock is a pewter shadow with a good deal of multicolored shimmer in it.  I think it performs really well.  I don't get much fallout with it and it wears well through the day.  I'm not exactly sure how/where Jane is trying to position itself in the market.  They're pricey for a drugstore brand, but less than a low-mid-range like the Sephora house brand.  I don't know.  I feel like they're having a bit of an identity crisis, but maybe that's just me.


Jane Shimmer Eyeshadows contain 2.5 grams of product and retail for $8.  I picked mine up at Ulta.

Overall:  7/10

Wednesday, March 26, 2014

FOTD: It's Make-Up, Not Magic

Quickie post - here's my FOTD, bad bathroom lighting and all



Product Breakdown:
Eyes:
base - Maybelline CT in Bad to the Bronze
lid - Lorac pewter and champagne (what a glitter bomb, no me gusta)
crease - Chanel Raffinement, top left shade
browbone - Sephora universal beige momo shadow (d/c, I think)
lower lash line - Chanel Raffinement, darkest shade
inner highlight - L'Oreal Infallible in Iced Latte
mascara - L'Oreal Double Extend

Face:
base - L'Oreal Infallible in Soft Ivory
contour - Nyx Taupe blush
blush - Milani Baked Bronzer in Glow

Lips:
(not loving this combo tbh)
Maybelline Color Sensational Buff in Ravishing Rose topped with Revlon Lip Butter in Juicy Papaya

I was inspired by Chloe Morello's recent Bronze Goddess tutorial.  Check her out here.  She's awesome:


Tuesday, March 25, 2014

Tom Ford Cheek Color in 05 Ravish


Sorry for being a bit MIA.  Spring Break ended up being a bit longer than I expected ;).  So, today's review is for the Tom Ford Cheek Color in Ravish.  I don't know that there are any official descriptions of the colors, so you're stuck with mine.


In online swatches, Ravish tends to look much cooler and pinker than it shows up in real life, at least in my experience.  It's a very warm almost sort of rosy tan with slight gold sparkles.  I don't think the sparkles generally translate to the skin at all and I think that sheered out on the cheeks (at least on my cheeks) it is a lot less orange leaning than it looks in these swatches.



Ravish is one of those colors that looks pretty boring in the pan, but it just looks lovely on the skin.  It has this luminous satin finish with the slightest hint of shimmer.  The texture of the blush is buttery soft and it blends and sheers out beautifully.


It's Tom Ford, so you know the price point is going to be painful - and it is, $56.  Ouch.  But it does contain a very hefty 8 grams of product.  And the packaging is to die for, like all Tom Ford products.  Even being on the pasty side of pale, this is one of my favorite blushes and I reach for it often.

Overall: 10/10


Wednesday, March 12, 2014

Bobbi Brown Shimmer Brick in Nude Glow


The Bobbi Brown Nude Glow limited edition Shimmer Brick launched with the Bobbi Brown holiday 2013 collection.  Technically it's a highlighter, but I knew from looking at it that on my skin, it would be a blush. 



I'm not overly familiar with Bobbi Brown shimmer bricks.  I've had one in my collection for years, but I never use it.  The other one I have is the little strips and I just hate the form factor of it.  I much prefer this type of presentation with the four big blocks of colors as opposed to all the little strips.  Also, since these are fairly sizeable blocks of color, it is much easier to use the shades individually as face or eye colors.

together on the left, individual swatches on the right

I've seen swatches of this product from bloggers who are much warmer and much darker than I am and on them it looks very pale pinky champagne.  On me, not so much.  Not that I'm complaining.  On my skintone, it is definitely champagne colored, but much warmer and darker.  This product is absolutely not a highlighter on me, but it is a very lovely blush.


individual blocks swatched, top row, then bottom row

all blocks swirled together.

Despite being called a Shimmer Brick, there isn't a lot of shimmer.  The colors are very metallic and definitely impart a whole lot of sheen, but there isn't any actual chunky glitter in it.  The product is soft and blends out easily.  The texture seemed consistent across the palette.  That's something I'm always worried about with products that have different shades mooshed up against one another.  I find it super annoying when some shades have a completely different texture and color payoff to others in the pan.  But this shimmer brick was very consistent in texture and color payoff, both of which were excellent.



This Shimmer Brick  contains 6.5 grams of product, which is a good amount, though not overly generous.  The product retails for $45.  As of the writing of this review, it is still available at some online retailers and I saw it on counter last weekend, so it's still out there.

Overall:  8/10

Tuesday, March 11, 2014

Le Metier de Beaute Colour Core Lipstick in Paris

I have no idea what's up with the Le Metier de Beaute brand.  It looks like most of the major retailers, Nordstrom, Saks, Neiman Marcus, etc, have very limited stock of their items.  The brand's facebook page still seems fairly active, so maybe they're just between collections.

colour core lipstick in Paris

Anyway ... this is a brand I'm curious about.  Le Metier de Beaute is very pricey and there are no counters anywhere near me, so I'm very reluctant to shell out the money for an unknown.  Usually.  However, on some of the makeup sites I read, people mentioned that a lot of products were available at deep discounts at Saks Off Fifth (Saks Fifth Avenue's overstock/outlet brick and mortar store).

There is a Saks Off Fifth just up the road from me, so I stopped in last weekend.  I was disappointed because there was nothing from Le Metier de Beaute to be found in their regular cosmetics area, but as I looked around, I found a display right near the counter and it was deeply discounted.  The sticker price on the Le Metier de Beaute items were about 65% off each and then when they rang up at the register, they gave me an additional 10 - 20% off (I'm not sure why, but I'm not complaining) per item.

One of the items I picked up is this beauty.  It's the Colour Core Lipstick in Paris and it is a bright cool fuchsia pink.  I don't think this is quite radiant orchid, but it's close and either way, it's perfect for spring.


The packaging is interesting, and not necessarily in a good way as far as I'm concerned.  The bullet is encased in a black rubberized coating very similar to NARS packaging.  It's difficult to tell from my pictures, but the bullet is actually ribbed.  So black rubberized coating plus ribbed texture mean that this thing is going to pick up and hold on to every bit of dust, powder or light colored liquid and cream product it comes into contact with, which does not please me.  The bullet is very slim and is very easy to knock over, which is also a pet peeve of mine. 



The lipstick itself is a bit on the sheer side.  It took several passes to get full opacity.  The formula feels lightweight and fairly moisturizing on the lips.  I wear all lipsticks on top of MAC's Prep+Prime lip primer, which undoubtedly extends wear time, but I got a solid 4 hours out of this formula with only minor staining.


Le Metier de Beaute Colour Core Lipsticks contain 3.8 grams of product and typically retail for $32.  I got this on clearance at Saks Off Fifth for around $7.  I'm not impressed enough with the packaging or the formula to seek out more of this brand at full price, but at $7 they're totally worth it.

Have any of you checked out the Le Metier de Beaute sale at Saks Off Fifth?  If so, what did you pick up?

Overall:  7/10

Monday, March 10, 2014

Maybelline Color Tattoo Nudes


So there has been a lot of hype about the Maybelline Color Tattoo Nudes, which, unfortunately, are limited edition (well, not so unfortunately in a couple of cases.)  Looking at Nouveau Cheap's sightings page, it looks like the collection has pretty good saturation at this point.



I had been keeping a sharp eye out for this collection and I finally found it at CVS (and I had a 20% off coupon, SCORE!)

I will say that as far as application and wear time, all of these shadows perform fantastically well - as do the bulk of the Color Tattoo line.  Pigmentation varies by color, but once they're on, these puppies aren't coming off.  All of the shades do have shimmer.

Pure Nude

Pure Nude

Pure Nude is, for better or for worse, exactly what it sounds like, pure nude.  Even on my incredibly pale skin, it is nothing but shimmer.  There is virtually no color to the base.  While the product looks a little champagne shimmer in the pot, on the skin it's a very cool, almost white shimmer.


Beige-ing Beauty

Beige-ing Beauty

Beige-ing Beauty is shockingly not at all beige, at least in my opinion.  This was the sheerest of the colors, even more sheer than Pure Nude.  Beige-ing Beauty is sparkle and nothing more.  The sparkle is warm, more gold than Pure Nude and also, less shimmery than Pure Nude.  This was the most underwhelming of the shades for me, with non-existent pigmentation and understated sparkle.


Nude Compliment

Nude Compliment

Nude Compliment is my favorite of the Nude shades.  It's a cool sort of antique gold color.  It reminds me a lot of MAC Patina.


Sleek & Spice

Sleek & Spice
Sleek & Spice is warmer than Nude Compliment.  It's a bit bronzy, but not terribly red.  There's still a bit of green there that keeps it from being too warm.

Caramel Cool

Caramel Cool
Caramel Cool is warm, warm, warm.  It's not even bronzy, it's pretty much straight up orange.  I didn't do comparison swatches, but it reminded me a lot of MAC Rubenesque paint pot, less of the duo chrome finish, but very much in that vein.

Like I said earlier, these shadows wear like a champ.  Even Pure Nude and Beige-ing Beauty which have lackluster pigmentation retain their lackluster pigmentation for a solid 12 hours.  These things do not budge and in my experience require an oil based remover.

Overall, I love this collection.  I'm not going to use Pure Nude or Beige-ing Beauty much, but if you're into sparkle, those are the shades for you.  I'm baffled as to why Maybelline has made this collection and the Matte collection limited edition.  These shades seem so much more wearable and useful than a number of shades in the permanent collection.

All Maybelline Color Tattoos contain 4 grams of product and retail anywhere from $4.50 to $7 each depending on where (IF) you can find them.  I picked mine up on sale at CVS.

Overall:  9/10

Friday, March 7, 2014

L'Oreal Infallible Eyeshadow in 755 Gilded Envy


The L'Oreal Infallible eyeshadow in 755 Gilded Envy is a new shade that launched with the L'Oreal Butterfly collection.  I believe it's permanent.  I've seen it pretty much everywhere that L'Oreal Infallible shadows are carried.


L'Oreal doesn't offer a specific description as far as I can tell.  It's a very golden green.  In the pan, it looks much more green than it shows up on the skin.  On the skin, it's definitely a tarnished gold color.


Personally, I find the Infallible shadows to vary a lot in texture from silky smooth to a chunky nightmare to apply.  Gilded envy is on the chunkier side to me, but it does apply well (unlike my much loved Amber Rush - beautiful color, total pain to apply).  It has good pigmentation, but sometimes it takes a bit of work to make sure you have uniform color coverage.


As with all of the L'Oreal Infallible shadows I've tried, it wore really well.  I don't know that I buy the 24 hour claim, but it definitely holds up for the work day.  


L'Oreal Infallible eye shadow in 755 Gilded Envy contains 3.5 grams of product and retails for $5 - 10 depending on where you're purchasing.  I picked mine up at CVS on a BOGO1/2 off.

Overall:  7/10